Fast Boat to China

7 02 2009

Chinese Year of the Ox 5k

Horrible night of sleep. Didn’t actually pass out until after 11 and then was woken up by crazy cats and dogs (it was a fullmoon) at about 4:15am. Had a onion bagel and some coffee with Heidi before she left for work, then I hopped on the Cannondale and made my way up to the race start.

Asphalt and stem.

Asphalt and stem.

Curry and Scottsdale.

Curry and Scottsdale.

A mini-riparian refuge fed by canals.

A mini-riparian refuge fed by canals.

Root Down.

Root Down.

After locking my backpack and bike to a tree root I took off for about a 20 minute warmup jog. This race was pretty small but the course was hilly so there was a bit of a challenge to it. Anyways we took off and started my watch as I crossed the start line (the race wasn’t chip-timed). The first few hundred yards were a little slow-going as I weaved throughout the joggers but I finally broke free and got into a steady pace. It was a fairly uneventful 5k. It went by quick and I crossed the line in pain. It was awesome.

My goal was set at a conservative 24:30 and I pretty much crushed that by clocking a 22:42. That’s a PR, friends. 7:19 per mile. I’m happy with that.  Not only did I PR but for the first time ever I placed in my age group! Yeah…kinda funny, I stuck around for the raffle and place medals because I was half interested to see if I did in fact squeeze by.

Maple sportin' my bling.

Maple sportin' my bling.

Alright. Well that’s it for me. Time for a shower and to really start the day.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

