Droppin’ pounds like a B-52 drops bombs…

27 01 2009

So weight isn’t a HUGE issue for me.  I think I put more focus into my split times than what the scale says…but as they say, the scale doesn’t lie.  I went for my first “run” back when I was about 22 years old (2002) and weighed close to 225 lbs. I loved buffalo wings, pizza, and beer. That initial run lasted all of about four minutes before I had to walk. You all know how the initial fight goes when it comes to beginning a running career. It straight up sucks. I also went vegetarian at about the same time, more for ethical reasons due to what I began learning through my biology coursework in college but it also helped curb some of the bad eating habits.

Sub Duece. A big day in my personal history.

Sub Duece. A big day in my personal history.

That photo above was taken May 11, 2007. Now I’m nothing amazing when it comes to my weight loss story. It’s not as though I was obese even at 225…but I wasn’t thin nor was I in any way shape or form happy.  But when I got below 200 for the first time in years, well, that was a great feeling. So today in the midst of  my base training campaign of 100 runs in 100 days I pulled the ‘ol scale to see where I was hovering:

Imagine if I stopped drinking beer...

Lowest in recent memory.

I’m exhausted, a little beat-up, but I feel fast and happy.  At this point in my life, I suppose that’s what matters. And I still drink lots of beer.

Actions

Information

One response

27 01 2009
Jamie

Nice. Well done Man.

I’m the same way, caring more about time splits and performance than weight, but still get a little psyched when I see the numbers on the scale slowly drop down.

Leave a Reply

