Frozen Assets

15 01 2009

 

Shoveling like a man.

Shoveling like a man.

Heidi took me to Denver for my birthday this week; it was precisely what we were both hoping for which was to relax and enjoy some simple pleasures.  We arrived late Sunday night and awoke monday morning to a fresh snow.  Me being a native Basinonian I find myself in the white stuff very rarely.  So for my own pleasure, and because I’m still deep in the 100/100 scheme, I took off for my first snow run.

Skipping (past) class.

Skipping (past) class.

Rare bare ground.

Rare bare ground.

Enjoying every minute of it!

Enjoying every minute of it!

Heidi's a poser.

Heidi's a poser.

Just following the path.

Just following the path.

Shortcut through the monastery.

Shortcut through the monastery.

So the running was slow and steady.  I was maintaining a slightly quicker than 10 min/mi pace which I was happy with considering conditions, altitude, and the general fear of slipping on ice and breaking my ass.

Starting out on another run.

Starting out on another run.

On frozen pond.

On frozen pond.

Through Wash Park

Through Wash Park

Forward motion.

Forward motion.

Still flossin'

Still flossin'

Slipping through DU campus.

Slipping through DU campus.

Tempting.  It's just too bad I'll be back in AZ.

Tempting. It's just too bad I'll be back in AZ.

It doesn't get much more beautiful than this.

It doesn't get much more beautiful than this.

Besides the running we drank a lot of beer and ate a lot of good food.  Yesterday we all decided to hit up some breweries, seeing as how CO is the microbrew capital of the US I didn’t see how we could pass up the opportunity.

Perhaps some of the best beer I've ever had.

Perhaps some of the best beer I've ever had.

Touring New Belgium...highly recommended.

Touring New Belgium...highly recommended.

Of course!

Of course!

We also hit Left Hand and Twisted Pine. I wasn’t worth much by the end of the night when we decided to fire up the Wii.  Anyhow it was a fantastic little vacation and we can’t wait to go back.  We really can’t wait to get there on more of a permanent basis…but that may be a few years off yet.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

