27 10 2005

Last night my roommate, Stu, announced to our crew at the bar that he was going to run the upcoming Rock ‘n Roll Half-Marathon. I, the skeptic that I am, promptly declared “bullshit.” Stu, a non-runner, basically has 10 weeks (which include the 3 fattest holidays of the year) to get his endurance built up enough to run 13.1 miles. That’s not helluva lot of time. Assuming he can hit the ground Monday (after his New York trip) and run 3 miles (I’d be impressed), he would have to add 1 mile of distance to his long run every week from now until marathon week. Meaning, if he completes the half-marathon, that’s going to be the longest run he’s completed.

Now you may be thinking, “Shit Mackey, lay off the guy! At least he’s setting a goal for himself!” You know what? I agree, so that’s why I’m going to run it with him. It’s now a competition, mano y mano. Him pushing me, me pushing him. It’s the only way this sort of challenge can be attempted. Now I want to win, because losing pisses me off. Aside from that, we are a team. We are both working towards a common objective. I still don’t think it’s going to be possible to run the entire half, but we’re gonna make a staunch attempt at it.

In other news, my bike is on it’s way! If I’m lucky, sometime next week I’ll be ripping through the backcountry on a shiny red Cannondale. This purchase is justifiable in two parts: 1) it’s great exercise and cheap entertainment 2) another mode of “free” transportation. My current bike has been in unridable condition for quite some time, and upon looking it more closely I deemed that it would cost just as much to get a new bike as it would to repair this one. My evaluation went a little something like this: “Okay well the fork needs an overhaul. A new fork would be nice, but I’ll settle for a working POS. Rear shock is done-fer, that’s a special order and sure to cost a couple benjis. Rear rim needs to be re-trued, derailleurs are okay but I need to run new cables, I’m sure I need new tubes. Fuck it, this thing is toast!” So with that, the latest search for gear was born. It’s time to go to class.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

